Best laid plans

Well,  we’ve been hit.

All but one is down with the flu.  Katie has proven the strongest immune system so far and I’m just keeping my fingers crossed that she doesn’t get this too.

It seems somewhat appropriate (in a weirdly maniacal way) that the month starts out with everyone tossing their cookies and me worrying about food in the house.

I was feeling better yesterday and decided that in the event that we were not able to leave for another couple of days, I would stock the pantry.

Luckily enough I had actually began a food list the week before with the intent of making, or planning for every dinner for the month of February.

So I had a list…

photo (1)

Now I just need to find the energy and stomach willpower to cook some things and freeze them and we’ll have food enough for the month!

I’ve never been able to be organized or have had enough ambition to try and plan a whole months worth of dinners – but I can see this being something that helps our family eat well and makes sure we don’t go out to pizza and spend money not really allocated to that.

Anyway, I’m writing this down on the blog because I tend to keep myself more accountable to my own plans if I write them down where other people can see them too – lucky you. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Best laid plans

  1. I do 2 weeks at a time (budget friendlier for us) but it is a big help to have a plan. When I don’t want what I planned, rather than hit Papa Murphy’s, I can just change my menu plan a bit. Praying you all feel better soon!

  2. Oh goodness! I hope you all get better soon. We are just getting over our month of illness – ugh. We were not prepared for the sickness (or the two ER visit because our ped can’t see you without an appointment 2/3 weeks out >:| ). And our food budget / medical budget was so very red. Our rainy day became the sick day fund 🙂

Leave a Reply

